Song Challenge Take 2: Day 56

A song that is insanely simple/repetitive, but is awesome anyway

“Blister in the Sun” / Violent Femmes (1983)

First, a quick note. I have once again been away from the blog for several months. Several being a nice way of saying seven. Life is just so busy, you know? I’ve been raising a kid, working full time, selling one house, and buying another. It’s all gotten a little bit hectic. I can’t promise this will be the start of daily posting, but I’m here today and that’s what matters.

And now, ladies and gentlemen, a couple of words on “Blister in the Sun”. I believe that the first time I heard this song was in My So-Called Life. Angela was jumping around and dancing on her bed, celebrating that she was finally over Jordan Catalano (as if that were possible). That scene and the accompanying music has stuck in my head for the past twenty years.

The song is VERY repetitive but it has never stopped me from loving it. A couple of simple verses and a chorus that makes you want to scream. That’s a recipe for perfection.

When I’m out walking
I strut my stuff
And I’m so strung out
I’m high as a kite
I just might stop to check you out
Let me go on like I
Blister in the sun
Let me go on
Big hands, I know you’re the one
Body and beats,
I stain my sheets
I don’t even know why
My girlfriend, she’s at the end,
She is starting to cry
Let me go on like I
Blister in the sun
Let me go on
Big hands, I know you’re the one
When I’m out walking
I strut my stuff
And I’m so strung out
I’m high as a kite
I just might stop to check you out
When I’m out walking
I strut my stuff
And I’m so strung out
I’m high as a kite
I just might stop to check you out
Body and beats,
I stain my sheets
I don’t even know why
My girlfriend, she’s at the end,
She is starting to cry
When I’m out walking
I strut my stuff
And I’m so strung out
I’m high as a kite
I just might stop to check you out
Let me go on like I
Blister in the sun
Let me go on
Big hands, I know you’re the one
Leave a Reply

