Song Challenge Take 2: Day 54

The song that got you hooked on your favorite band/artist

“Barrel of a Gun” / Guster (1999)

Guster is my favorite band. I know that I have mentioned this about ten million times. They have been my favorite since middle school and unless someone really spectacular comes along, I don’t foresee that changing anytime in the near future. The first single I heard off of their album Lost and Gone Forever (a masterpiece) was the song “Barrel of a Gun”. It was played regularly on WCYY, Portland, Maine’s alternative music radio station. It was the only thing I listened to in middle school so I heard the song many times.

I instantly liked the song. I thought the use of a typewriter as percussion was fun and the “4, 3, 2, 1” countdown was really easy for a middle schooler. I went down to my local music store and bought Lost and Gone Forever. I can honestly say that it was the best purchase I have ever made in my life. I have listened to the CD probably close to 100 times and will continue to listen to it, hopefully passing on the love to my daughter.

Leave a Reply

