Song Challenge Take 2: Day 52

A song that you’ve been listening to for years and still don’t know what the heck they’re saying

“Lights” / Ellie Golding (2010)

I will fully admit that I have no clue what Ellie Goulding is singing in this song. I love to listen to it and try to sing along, though I am certainly making up all my own lyrics:

I had a weight then, losing it all on my own
I had a heart then, but the queen has been overthrown
And I’m not sleeping now, the dark is too hot to beat
And I’m not keeping now the strength I need to push me

A quick Google of the words show that I haven’t been too far off but I never would have guessed what the real words were. I can guarantee that I will continue to sing my version for the rest of time.

Leave a Reply

