Song Challenge Take 2: Day 48

A song that you wish you could’ve written

“Baby I’m Yours” / Barbara Lewis (1965)

I think everyone knows the Arctic Monkeys version of this song but my favorite is the original. It is another one of those romantic love songs that I am growing rather fond of in my old age (ha). The lyrics, written by Van McCoy, are the best part of the song. They are sweet in a non-syrupy way. A perfect way to convey how you love the one you’re with.

Baby I’m yours
And I’ll be yours until the stars fall from the sky
Yours until the rivers all run dry
In other words, until I die

Baby I’m yours
And I’ll be yours until the sun no longer shines
Yours until the poets run out of rhyme
In other words, until the end of time

I’m gonna stay right here by your side
Do my best to keepyou satisfied
Nothing in the world can drive me away
‘Cause every day you’ll hear me say

Baby I’m yours
And I’ll be yours until two and two is three
Yours until the mountain crumbles to the sea
In other words, until I eternity

Baby I’m yours
Till the stars fall from the sky
Baby I’m yours
Till the rivers all run dry
Baby I’m yours
Till the poets run out of rhyme
Baby I’m yours

One comment

  1. […] Day 48. A song that you wish you could’ve written. […]

Leave a Reply

