For Your Consideration: Freaks and Geeks, 1.08 “Girlfriends and Boyfriends”

It makes me have a sad that I haven’t written about Freaks and Geeks in a dog’s age. I know I’ve touched on how much I love this show in the past, but I cannot say enough good things about it. Stepdad recently told me he didn’t like the show and I about had a stroke. I’m currently researching if it is legal to waterboard him for saying such things.

I present for your enjoyment “Girlfriends and Boyfriends”, my absolute favorite episode of Freaks and Geeks. I hope you enjoy it even half as much as I do.

WHY YOU SHOULD WATCH

Nick Andopolis is the boyfriend I have always wanted. Just observe the way he puts his hand in the back pocket of Lindsey’s jeans. Is it super weird that I have always wanted someone to do this?

Babe if you''re reading this- DO IT!

Babe if you’re reading this- DO IT!

“Freaks go all the way” and have babies. What would Lindsey do without Millie to set her on the path of the straight and narrow? Everyone needs a friend like Millie around, just a perpetual wet blanket.

freaksgoalltheway

I guess we are all freaks.

Mr. Rosso and his “Sex and You” pamphlet. Television shows always have guidance counselors with pamphlets but I don’t remember even seeing them in my high school. Sad face. Combined with his story of the discoteque behind the bowling alley, this should be an effective way to prevent underage unprotected sex. Do you want sores on your mouth once a month?

Bill and Cindy Sanders are the best/worst lab partners ever. It’s a pairing that I never would have imagined in my wildest dreams yet it works.

Daniel gives Lindsey the most awkward pep talk about dating Nick. It’s like trying to convince a woman that she should date a prison inmate. What guy refers to their best friend as a stud?

Is Donkey Basketball a thing that really existed/exists? What does it entail? If people ride donkeys around, where do the donkeys come from? I have so many questions that I must now Google.

The Elephant Man is the worst movie date idea in the history of ideas. And this is from a girl who once took a guy to see The Mummy with my Mummy.

Nick’s brothers are never seen or mentioned again? Can I please know more about them? What are their likes and dislikes? Do they also have a rocking drum kit?

“Last one to class, first one on welfare.” Mr. Kowchefski is a hidden comedic gem. Totally under appreciated character.

Cindy Sanders (who should always be referred to by both names) is the most wholesome girl on the planet. Her room is pink, she snacks on celery and carrots, and her favorite show is The Muppet Show. So freaking innocent. Does she also wear pony sweatshirts?

billandcindystudying

This room is my personal Hell.

Bill’s attempt to recreate the chair fart in Cindy Sander’s room is priceless. Everything about his facial expression and posture is fabulous.

Nick goading Daniel about having the “bad” girlfriend is adorable. He is SO EXCITED to have a new girlfriend and will take every opportunity to mention her to anyone he comes in contact with. I think we all know at least one guy like him.

nickanddaniel

Young John Francis Daley is at his best when he accuses Bill of trying to make him not like Cindy Sanders anymore. Why didn’t he do more acting when he was little?

The Leif Garrett reference slays me. All I can picture is present day Leif and he is so NOT kissable. Not even a little bit.

The yearbook teacher is John Francis Daley’s father in real life. And they give him one of the best lines in the episode:

Thank you Sylvia Plath.

Mrs. Weir’s excitement over the flower that Nick send Lindsey is the most adorable thing ever. Would she be as pumped if she knew that he couldn’t spell the words wait or night?

“Good luck with that bomb shelter!” Mr. Weir is the best dad. Can he please adopt me ASAP?

Mr. Weir’s lack of enthusiasm for the single rose sent to his daughter. After all, he’s not taking care of some wedlock baby while she’s gallivanting around college!

The absolute worst sex talk ever. Mrs. Weir prompts Mr. Weir to tell Lindsey about his time in Korea. You know, the time he spent $5 to lose his virginity to a hooker. It’s a family story that should be told every year at Christmas!

Thank you Dad for NEVER telling me about your first time. Please keep that story a secret from me forever.

Thank you Dad for NEVER telling me about your first time. Please keep that story a secret from me forever.

The song selection in this episode is on point. “Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin'” is by far the best of the Journey songs.

Airplane! jokes are the best kind of jokes. “And don’t call me Shirley.”

Science facts are everywhere! I had never heard of trimethylaminuria until this show. I was surprised to learn this was real and wonder if any famous people have it. Because that’s the way my mind works.

Cindy Sanders invites Sam to Stackey’s to tell him all about her huge crush on Todd. I get the crush because he’s Riley Smith but that’s way cold. Thanks for making me have a giant sad. It’s even worse when she tells Sam that he’s like her sister.

samatstuckeys

FACIAL EXPRESSIONS FOR DAYS.

Mr. and Mrs. Weir totally trap Sam into watching TV with them, complete with family cuddling.

samtvwatching

This is the same face I make when watching tv with my family.

Nick is obviously standing RIGHT at the door waiting for Lindsey to show up. While playing “Nights in White Satin”! I can think of no better reception.

This is THE MOST EXCITED PERSON EVER.

This is THE MOST EXCITED PERSON EVER.

There has never been a scene more hilarious and uncomfortable than Nick singing “Lady” to Lindsey. Laughter and tears every time. Every single time.

The brother/sister relationship between John Francis Daley and Linda Cardellini shines in the final scene. I can’t even count the number of times I flashed chewed up food at my brothers. True story.

paperhat

That is the face of a junior troublemaker.

Leave a Reply

