Song Challenge Take 2: Day 40

Your favorite song from the 50s

“I Only Have Eyes For You” / The Flamingos (1959)

Google “1950s songs” and the first hit you get is 100 Best Songs of the 1950s. It is an epic list that includes Johnny Cash, Ray Charles, Miles Davis, and Elvis Presley. If you are a fan of 50s music, I highly recomend checking out the link. Number eighteen on their list is my number one- “I Only Have Eyes For You” as performed by The Flamingos.

I wrote about this song in my previous song challenge. I also included it on two of my playlists: wedding and Valentine’s Day. What can I say? Maybe it’s the doo wop vocals. Maybe it’s the backing orchestra. Either way, I absolutely love this song. I find it to be so sweet and romantic; it instantly sets the mood for love and who doesn’t want to feel in love? When slow dancing with Husband it is always my first pick.

I fully plan on writing a Cover Me post about this song in the future. It has been kicking around since 1934 so I’m sure there are TONS of versions to enjoy. I plan on listening to every single one.

One comment

  1. […] Day 40. Your favorite song from the 50’s. […]

Leave a Reply

