Song Challenge Take 2: Day 31

Your class song

“(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life” / Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes (1987)

The song came out a year after I was born but we enjoyed it as our class song in 2005. I don’t remember what the selection process was; I’m sure our class officers probably chose it themselves without any input from the rest of the class. Despite the lack of democratic process, the song was a big hit when the DJ played it during our senior prom.

I’ve always been pretty partial to the song. I grew up watching Dirty Dancing and always wanted to find my Johnny Castle. What girl doesn’t love a man who will stand up to her father and have sick dance moves? “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life” is a great song to sum up good times with friends. While it didn’t describe my high school experience, it was still a touching moment for the majority of my class. All in all, a great class song choice.

One comment

  1. […] Day 31. Your class song (or what you want your class song to be). […]

Leave a Reply

