Song Challenge Take 2: Day 27

A song you like to blast on your car stereo when it comes on

“Get Lucky” / Daft Punk feat. Pharrell Williams (2013)

I absolutely love this song. It combines so many of my favorite things: Daft Punk’s sick electronic beats, Pharrell Williams’ voice, a catchy chorus, a fun bass line, and danceability. I will never cease to be amazed by the things Daft Punk come up with. I know absolutely nothing about vocoders or synthesizers so naturally they fascinate me. I know a lot of people are down on music made via electronics but I feel as though Daft Punk are masters at blended electronica with real strings and bass.

Pharrell has been a longtime fave of mine going back to the production of “Got Your Money” as one half of The Neptunes. All the songs I danced to in the early 00’s seemed to be produced by him and/or featured him on vocals. Oh how I love his vocals. Maybe it’s post-production mastering but he has one of the smoothest voices on the radio. I know the comparison is trite but his voice is like damn silk. Silk that I want to live wrapped up in forever.

One comment

  1. […] Day 27. A song you like to blast on your car stereo when it comes on. […]

Leave a Reply

