Song Challenge Take 2: Day 26

One of the top songs that was released the year you were born

“Two of Hearts” / Stacey Q (1986)

Wow. Talk about a hard one. There was so much cheese-tastic music on the Billboard charts for 1986. Just look at the five songs that achieved the highest chart positions: “Rock Me Amadeus” by Falco, “Papa Don’t Preach” by Madonna, “The Final Countdown” by Europe, “Take My Breath Away” by Berlin, and “West End Girls” by Pet Shop Boys. With the exception of Madonna, all of these songs are so bad that I love them. It wasn’t possible to choose based on good taste so I went with the next best thing: hilarity.

“Two of Hearts” was first brought to my attention during a scene in Hot Rod. All of the male supporting characters are outside of a convenience store dancing to the song. It made me and my brothers crack up the first time we saw it, and has become a running joke in our family. Oh, it’s your birthday? Be prepared to receive a burned CD with “Two of Hearts” on it (you’re welcome Matty). If you haven’t seen the movie, I’ve included the clip above. I just happened to have it bookmarked in my faves.

2 comments

  1. Bwahahahaha! This is so funny time. & I had to watch the video a couple of times. 😝

  2. […] Day 26. One of the top songs that was released the year you were born. […]

Leave a Reply

