Song Challenge Take 2: Day 15

A song your parents played on road trips when you were young

“Don’t Stop Believin'” / Journey (1981)

My family used to take a 2,000 mile road trip from Maine to Florida (and then back again) every April when I was growing up. More often than not I would take control over the passenger seat and the radio, declaring myself DJ for the trip. Occasionally I would allow Mom to play her tunes (super generous, I know) and she would almost always choose one of two bands: Journey or Foreigner.

Long before Glee drove “Don’t Stop Believin'” into the ground, it was a staple on our yearly road trip. The opening track on Escape, it was usually the start of Mom’s reign as queen of the radio. I’m pretty sure my brothers and I can sing it in our sleep, it has been so ingrained in us. I’m not sure whether I should thank Mom for this or wish her a spider bite in revenge. Either way, no road trip is complete without hearing about a singer in a smoky room.

 

2 comments

  1. “Streetlights… People…” 🎼🎼🎼🎼

  2. […] Day 15. A song your parents played on road trips when you were young. […]

Leave a Reply

