Song Challenge Take 2: Day 14

A song you like that’s instrumental only

“Playground Love (Vibraphone Version)” / Air (2000)

The first time I heard “Playground Love” I was in middle school. It was featured in a Levi’s commercial that ended with a man swimming through water. It’s all very vague. It wasn’t until a little while later that I heard the instrumental only version. It was tucked away near the end of the The Virgin Suicides soundtrack. A real diamond in the rough.

I don’t want to say that it was better than the original but I was surprised how much I enjoyed the song without lyrics. The strings are beautiful and the saxophone adds another layer of dimension resulting in something quite special. I think I may need to listen to it a couple dozen times now.

One comment

  1. […] Day 14. A song you like that’s instrumental only. […]

Leave a Reply

