Song Challenge Take 2: Day 11

A song you indulge in shameless self pity to

“Suicide is Painless” / Johnny Mandel (1973)

I suppose wallowing in sadness is the same as indulging in self pity in this context. I’ve mentioned my ‘Melancholia’ playlist before. I had to dive into that well again to come up with a song for this. It’s dark as hell but when I’m grooving on feeling bad I like to pull up “Suicide is Painless”, the theme song from M*A*S*H. The lyrics are so bleak that I can’t help but feel a little better about myself.

I’m not going to lie, I feel a little like a creep sharing that I like to listen to this song. I feel like it paints a picture of me as a super-depressed emo kid, sitting in a corner while crying in the dark. I promise I’m not as sad as it seems.

One comment

  1. […] Day 11. A song you indulge in shameless self pity to. […]

Leave a Reply

