Song Challenge Take 2: Day 2

A song that reminds you of summer

“Island in the Sun” / Weezer (2001)

Last time I did this challenge my choice of summertime song was “Summer Breeze” by Seals & Crofts. While it’s still one of my all-time faves, I want to write about new songs. Thus, “Island in the Sun”.

This is kind of the quintessential summer song for my age group. Not only do the lyrics evoke warm, sunny days, but the vibe is very chill and laid back, beachy even. I remember it being played non-stop on the radio and it seems like it was featured in every teen movie ever (even a Mary-Kate and Ashley flick). At the time the ubiquitousness was annoying, but now I find the song endearing. A perfect reminder of kicking back on the beach, soaking up the sun.

2 comments

  1. Reminds me of the movie ‘Out Cold’ with Jason London. Still a favorite.

  2. […] Day 2: A song that reminds you of summer. […]

Leave a Reply

