Hey, Watch This!: Housebound

It recently occurred to me that I have never written a “Hey, Watch This!” post about any horror movies. How sad. How tragic. Horror movies, as I’m sure I have expressed before, are one of my favorite things. I like slashers, supernatural beings, psychological thrillers. Pretty much the entire gamut. A few nights ago Husband and I had a mini-marathon, watching what other websites have deemed the best of what Netflix currently has to offer in the way of horror movies. I was not even a tiny bit disappointed.

The best of the four films we watched was a surprising gem from New Zealand called Housebound. Wikipedia describes it as a horror comedy but it is all the things. I jumped, I laughed, I was a little grossed out. I will now and forever recommend this movie to everyone I know.

houseboundmovieposter

PLOT

A young woman is placed under house arrest following a run in with the police. It just happens that the house she’s stuck in may be haunted.

WHY YOU SHOULD WATCH

This movie is chock full of hilariousness. From the opening scene when *SPOILER ALERT* Kylie’s partner in crime accidentally knocks himself out with a sledgehammer while trying to break into an ATM, the laughs in this one are genuine. It’s nice to see a horror movie that doesn’t take itself too seriously nor is it a pun-tastic cheese fest.

Beware: thIs is a dangerous Hell beast.

Beware: thIs is a dangerous Hell beast.

Kylie is deliciously snarky. I always love a character who can bring the sass. Snappy one-liners and comebacks are the norm for our hardass heroine. She can deliver a put-down like nobody’s business and I adore it.

Resting bitch face for days.

Resting bitch face for days.

Red herrings are everywhere. You think the movie is one thing but then it morphs into another, then another, and then yet another. The twists are clever and keep you interested in the film.

redherring

These stinkers are everywhere.

Inept cops. I used to want to be a police officer so I have mad respect for them, but bumbling cops will always be funny to me.

Eugene! Eugene is honestly the best character in this entire movie and he doesn’t arrive until halfway through. Just look at that face.

houseboundeugene

This is a face for everyone to love.

Most inventive use for a cheese grater. That’s all you need to know.

cheesegrater

Secretly badass Mom. I love when a character seems weak and daffy but turns out to have a real inner strength. Miriam initially comes off as a real pushover, allowing housebound Kylie to control everything from the television to what they eat for dinner. She is set up to seem completely inept but does a 180 as shit in the house starts to get real. By the end of the movie you’re cheering for Miriam to help kick some ass and totally believe that she can do it.

I would not fuck with this woman.

See what happens when you fuck with Miriam?

WHERE HAVE I SEEN YOU BEFORE?

houseboundkylie

Morgana O’Reilly as Kylie

  • Nicki on Sunny Skies
  • Various characters on This is Littleton
Rima Te Wiata as Miriam

Rima Te Wiata as Miriam

  • Various characters on Full Frontal
  • Liz Arthur on Shortland Street
Glen-Paul Waru as Amos

Glen-Paul Waru as Amos

  • Tumeke Space on The Barefoot Bandits
Cameron Rhodes as Dennis

Cameron Rhodes as Dennis

  • Farmer Moggot in The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
  • Simon Carr in We’re Here to Help
Ryan Lamp as Eugene

Ryan Lampp as Eugene

  • Tom on The Jaquie Brown Series
  • Referee in Crackheads
Leave a Reply

