Cover Me Up Playlist

Surprise! It’s playlist time bitches. I know I haven’t written about music in a very long time but it has not been far from my mind. Husband and friends opened a music store (Downeast Bound Music) earlier this year and I have spent a large portion of the last few months surrounded by instruments and strings and amazingness. Seriously, you guys should check it out because they have a lot of amazing stuff in there. Plus you can take lessons from three of my favorite people on the planet.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, I’ve been working on a playlist of my favorite cover songs. I know, I know. The haters think covers are lame and original pieces are the only way to go. Fuck the haters. For real. Here are some of the epic covers I’ve come across in my travels, none of which I’ve mentioned before (which made this considerably more difficult). Enjoy!

“Baba O’Riley” / The Ghost of Paul Revere / Originally The Who (1971)
“Ocean Breathes Salty” / Iron Horse / Originally Modest Mouse (2005)
“The Final Countdown” / Béla Fleck and Abigail Washburn / Originally Europe (1986)
“I Want You Back” / The John Butler Trio /Originally The Jackson 5 (1969)
“Devil Town” / Tony Lucca / Originally Daniel Johnson (1990)
“These Days” / Nico / Originally Jackson Browne (1967)
“Bulletproof” / Family Force 5 /Originally La Roux (2002)
“(Just Like) Starting Over” / The Flaming Lips / Originally John Lennon (1980)
“Stronger” / 30 Seconds to Mars / Originally Kanye West (2007)
“I Will Survive” / Cake / Originally Gloria Gaynor (1978)
“Fluorescent Adolescent” / Kate Nash / Originally Arctic Monkeys (2007)
“Stairway to Heaven” / The Beatnix / Originally Led Zeppelin (1971)
“She Don’t Use Jelly” / Ben Folds Five / Originally The Flaming Lips (1993)
“Astro Zombies” / Pennywise / Originally Misfits (1982)
“20 Eyes” / Shades Apart / Originally Misfits (1982)
“Brainiac’s Daughter” / Royal / Originally XTC (1987)
“My Hero” / Paramore / Originally Foo Fighters (1998)
“Love Song” / Four Year Strong / Originally Sara Bareilles (2007)
“You Oughta Know” / The Killing Moon / Originally Alanis Morissette (1995)
“I Knew You Were Trouble” / We Came As Romans / Originally Taylor Swift (2012)
“I Love It” / Robin Thicke / Originally Icona Pop (2012)
“Umbrella” / All Time Low / Originally Rihanna (2007)
“Halo” / Florence + the Machine / Originally Beyonce (2009)

One comment

  1. […] covers (because I have oh so many and it has been well documented here, here, here, here, and here) is “Love In This Club”, a cover of an Usher song done by The Automatic. I first […]

Leave a Reply

