Wedding Playlist

Several months ago Boyfriend became Husband (yay!) and our wedding was all about the music. In addition to having the lovely Mr. Jesse Stockton and uber-amazing Six Pack of Gentlemen play, I was determined to create the perfect playlist. I wanted optimum guest enjoyment and dancing- tons and tons of dancing.

I wanted songs that weren’t too mushy (sorry Celine Dion) or too cliche (no “At Last”). On the other hand, I knew parents, aunts and uncles, and children would be in attendance so I didn’t want songs that were too risque (bye bye “Feelin’ On Yo Booty”). Futhermore, I wanted songs from a variety of eras so the guests of all ages would feel comfortable. I scoured dozens of websits from “20 Best Wedding Songs” to lists created by DJs in large cities. I left no stone unturned n my exhaustive search.

My initial playlist contained eight plus HOURS of songs. A little intense for a simple backyard wedding with two bands playing. I sat down with Husband and we culled the list down to a more acceptable 4 hours and 47 minutes (not that anyone’s counting). What follows are the results of our efforts. Enjoy!

“Rock the Casbah” / The Clash

“Play That Funky Music” / Wild Cherry

“The Way You Move” / OutKast

“Louie, Louie” / The Kingsmen

“Do You Love Me” / The Contours

“Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It” / Will Smith

“Maybe I’m Amazed” / Paul McCartney

“I Melt With You” / Modern English

“Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough” / Michael Jackson

“ABC” / The Jackson 5

“I Want You Back” / The Jackson 5

“It Takes Two” / Rob Base and DJ E-Z Rock

“Jungle Love” / Morris Day & The Time

“Move Your Feet” / Junior Senior

“I See You Baby” / Groove Armada feat. Gram’ma Funk

“Last Night” / The Strokes

“You Are the Sunshine of My Life” / Stevie Wonder

“You Send Me” / Sam Cooke

“Listztomania” / Phoenix

“Shama Lama Ding Dong” / Lloyd Williams

“Jungle Boogie” / Kool and the Gang

“Get Busy” / Sean Paul

“You Sexy Thing” / Hot Chocolate

“Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” / Frankie Valli

“Baby I Need Your Lovin” / The Four Tops

“She Drives Me Crazy” / Fine Young Cannibals

“What Is Love?” / Haddaway

“This Magic Moment” / The Drifters

“Love You Madly” / Cake

“Wonderful World” / Louis Armstrong

“For Once In My Life” / Stevie Wonder

“Only You (And You Alone)” / The Platters

“Love Train” / The O’Jays

“I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)” / The Four Tops

“Digital Love” / Daft Punk

“Take On Me” / a-ha

“Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” / Wham!

“Mr. Boombastic” / Shaggy

“You’re the First, The Last, My Everything” / Nicholas David

“Got To Give It Up (Part 1)” / Marvin Gaye

“Heartbeats” / Jose Gonzalez

“I Love It” / Icona Pop feat. Charli XCX

“Ignition (Remix)” / R. Kelly

“Whip It” / Devo

“Save the Last Dance for Me” / The Drifters

“Young Folks” / Peter, Bjorn and John feat. Victoria Bergsman

“This Is How We Do It” / Montell Jordan

“Our House” / Madness

“Under the Boardwalk” / The Drifters

“Twist and Shout” / The Beatles

“Let’s Stay Together” / Al Green

“Twistin’ the Night Away” / Sam Cooke

“Eyes” / Rogue Wave

“These Arms of Mine” / Otis Redding

“Dancing With Myself” / Generation X

“Baby I’m Yours” / Barbara Lewis

“Burning Down the House” / Talking Heads

“1901” / Phoenix

“Starlight” / Muse

“You Spin Me ‘Around (Like a Record)” / Dead or Alive

“Use Me” / Bill Withers

“That’s How Strong My Love Is” / Otis Redding

“Don’t Stop the Music” / Rihanna

“Can’t Get Enough of Your Love, Babe” / Barry White

“Good Vibrations” / Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch

“Green Light” / John Legend feat. Andre 3000

“Blame It On the Boogie” / The Jacksons

“Under Pressure” / David Bowie with Queen

“Get Lucky” / Daft Punk feat. Pharrell Williams

“Blister in the Sun” / Violent Femmes

“Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours” / Stevie Wonder

“Heart of Glass” / Blondie

“Love My Way” / The Psychedelic Furs

“Hungry Like the Wolf” / Duran Duran

“I Only Have Eyes for You” / The Flamingos

“One More Time” / Daft Punk

“I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How to Dance With You” / Black Kids

“You Make My Dreams” / Hall & Oates

“Right Round” / Flo-Rida feat. Ke$sha

“No Diggity” / Blackstreet feat. Dr. Dre and Queen Pen

“Bulletproof” / La Roux

“La Bamba” / Richie Valens

One comment

  1. […] wrote about this song in my previous song challenge. I also included it on two of my playlists: wedding and Valentine’s Day. What can I say? Maybe it’s the doo wop vocals. Maybe it’s […]

Leave a Reply

