30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 28

Day 28- Movie with the best soundtrack

Impossible. This is literally impossible to answer. I’ve considered writing regular posts on the various soundtracks I love and the influences they have had on my life. It’s highly likely that I will some time in the future when I light a fire under my butt and get to really writing. My emotional attachment to music is well documented and soundtracks are one of the very best sources for songs meant to elicit such a reaction. For this reason I will be sharing with you a small handful of my favorite soundtracks and the stories behind my love for them (note the plural).

When Clueless came around, I was minorly obsessed with all things Cher and company. This included the music. My mom bought the soundtrack and I quickly “borrowed” it, dubbing songs onto a tape from my ultra sophisticated boombox. I remember sitting with my pen and paper trying to write down the lyrics to “Rollin with My Homies”. I had to keep pausing every five seconds or so to scribble when I could make out. The lyrics definitely were NOT appropriate for my young ears but I can still belt them out when it comes on my ipod.

Listen to: “Kids in America”- The Muffs; “Fake Plastic Trees”- Radiohead; “Rollin’ With My Homies”- Coolio; “Supermodel”- Jill Sobule

Avoid: “Ghost In You”- Counting Crows; “Here (Squirrel Mix)”- Luscious Jackson

cluelessSkipping forward some years (I have no clue how many), I was CD shopping during a summer visit with my dad, I was flipping through stacks when I cam across the soundtrack to Wayne’s World. I talked Dear Dad into buying it for me and raced home to play it in my new big girl boombox. From the opening notes of “Bohemian Rhapsody” I was hooked. I still like to bust it out from time to time when I’m in a hard rocking mood.

Listen to: “Bohemian Rhapsody”- Queen; “Dream Weaver”- Gary Wright; “Foxy Lady”- The Jimi Hendrix Experience; “Feed My Frankenstein”- Alice Cooper

Avoid: Tia Carrere’s version of “Ballroom Blitz”. Sweet just does it so much better.

waynesworldI went through a really awkward music phase as a pre-teen. I couldn’t decide who I wanted to be and that extended to my music choices. I wanted happy and pop. I wanted angry and aggressive. I wanted sad and mournful. The soundtrack to Romeo + Juliet was a Godsend. I could flip on One Inch Punch when I was feeling rageful or The Cardigans when I was in a more playful mood. I know it’s cliche to love this particular soundtrack but this is one time when I’m okay with being like everyone else.

Listen to: “#1 Crush”- Garbage; “Lovefool”- The Cardigans; “Talk Show Host”-Radiohead; “You And Me Song”- The Wannadies

Avoid: “Kissing You (Love Theme from Romeo + Juliet“- Des’ree; “Everybody’s Free (To Feel Good)”- Quindon Tarver

romeo-and-juliet-cd-coverWhen I miss my mom and feel nostalgic for my childhood years, I like to pop in the Virgin Suicides soundtrack. I grew up listening to the songs of my mother’s youth, many of which are found there. Listening to the songs has a very soothing quality, almost as if mom is here, patting me on the head or rubbing my back.

Listen to: All of the things. Seriously, every song is golden. Especially “Hello It’s Me”- Todd Rundgren; “The Air That I Breathe”- The Hollies; “How Can You Mend A Broken Heart”- Al Green; “I’m Not in Love”- 10cc; “Playground Love”- Air

Avoid: None. this album is perfection.

virginsuicidesMost recently I fell in love with the soundtrack to Pitch Perfect. It’s mostly acapella songs featuring the cast (cheers for Adam DeVine’s vocals, which are surprisingly good) mixed with some of the instrumental incidental music (including the hilariously named “Toner”). I enjoy hearing all of the songs I jam to while watching the movie in their entirety. My favorite voice of all is Skyler Astin. He is so my biggest musical crush. I love this soundtrack so much so that I gave a copy to pretty much every person I know. Aca-awesome.

Listen to: “Don’t Stop the Music”- The Treblemakers; “Let It Whip”- The Treblemakers; “Trebles Finals: Bright Lights Bigger City/Magic”- The Treblemakers, “Bellas Finals: Price Tag/Don’t You (Forget About Me)/Give Me Everything/Just the Way You Are/Party In the U.S.A./Turn the Beat Around”- The Barden Bellas; “Blame It On the Boogie”- The Footnotes

Avoid: “Cups”- Anna Kendrick

pitchperfect

Leave a Reply

