30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 21

Day 21- The most overrated movie

I’m probably going to get some flack for this but I think Dazed and Confused is one of the most overrated movies. That isn’t to say that I don’t enjoy it (once in a while) but I don’t believe it was handed down from God above like some people (my brothers). At the end of the day it’s just a high school party movie, just like Can’t Hardly Wait and Remember the Daze, both of which I enjoy infinitely more.

Dazed and Confused is often praised for its large cast of (now) notable actors. The film marks the introductions of Jason London. Milla Jovovich, Ben Affleck, Matthew McConaughey, Parker Posey, and Adam Goldberg. all are famous in their own right but are any of them really that spectacular? jason London is now known more for shitting in the back of a cop car than acting. Milla can only get a job if her husband/boyfriend/baby daddy (whatever Paul W.S. Anderson is to her) is directing. Ben Affleck’s acting sucks harder than Jenna Jameson on set (his directing is a totally different story). Parker Posey’s biggest role was in a live action Josie and the Pussycats movie, and Adam Goldberg plays the same neurotic character over and over again. Matthew McConaughey is probably the best actor of the bunch. Matthew fucking McConaughey. Excuse me f I don’t bow down at the feet of the casting director.

This fucking guy.

This fucking guy.

Richard Linklater is given props for capturing real teenagers. I’ll give him that. I knew plenty of douchey, asshole seniors and pitiful freshmen who wanted to hang out with them. But Some Kind of Wonderful, Speak, and Dreamland all capture what it really feels like to be a teen. They aren’t lauded even though they totally deserve to be.

I suppose I don’t really like the movie after all. When someone suggests watching it (stupid brothers), I will scramble to find anything else. So maybe it’s not overrated and I just hate it. Oh well. Suck it Ben Affleck.

benaffleck

One comment

  1. […] Day 21. The most overrated movie […]

Leave a Reply

