30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 20

Day 20- Your favorite actress

I’ve thought even less about my favorite actress than I have about my favorite actor. I mean, I know my fave TV actress- Sarah Michelle Gellar for life!- but her film roles just haven’t provided her with the same opportunities to showcase her talent and range. Mandy Moore is my angel from Heaven but she’s limited to a certain type of role. Jennifer Lawrence is too trendy and Emma Watson is too expected. Who knew picking a woman would be more difficult than picking a man?

I searched through a lot of websites to see where other people have ranked actresses and was not very impressed. When Lindsay Lohan, Miley Cyrus, and Kristen Stewart are among the top ranked, I lose faith in humanity. Truly. I came across a few names that I took under consideration. I only took one even kind of seriously- the lovely Emily Blunt.

emilyblunt

Emily is an understated actress which is why I didn’t immediately think of her. I know that she recently starred in some sci-fi/action summer blockbuster with Tom Cruise but I haven’t seen it and that is definitely not how I think of her when her name comes up. I think of her smaller films, the ones that really resonate: Sunshine Cleaning, The Jane Austen Book Club, and Your Sister’s Sister.

She is so delightfully charming. Maybe it’s the British accent. Maybe it’s her beauty. Either way, I am enamored when I watch her. She seems kind and funny and intelligent. Even when I am watching her be uptight in The Devil Wears Prada or making bad choices in The Five Year Engagement, I am kind of in love with her.

One comment

  1. […] Day 20. Your favorite actress […]

Leave a Reply

