30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 18

Day 18- The movie that disappointed you the most

I try not to go into movies with really high expectations but sometimes I can’t help myself. Such was the story with Man of Steel, the most recent Superman movie. I am a pretty big fan of Supes. I’ve seen all of the movies (including the many DC Animated flicks), read many of the original comics, and obsessed over Smallville. So I was pretty psyched to see what Zack Snyder would do with my beloved Clark Kent.

Boy was that a mistake.

Boy was that a mistake.

I don’t know why I let myself get so psyched. As a general rule I’m not really into what Snyder does. Watchmen, while incredibly faithful to the comic books, was boring was a capital B. An hour could have been trimmed out and I still would’ve felt like I was slowly slipping into a coma while watching it. Sucker Punch was just a giant fucking disaster. Incomprehensible storyline. cheesy dialogue, whacked out CGI. Not my favorite thing. 300 was what gave me a glimmer of hope. It’s not the most spectacular epic, but it was entertaining to watch.

This probably has something to do with it.

This probably has something to do with it.

Where to start with the failure? I guess I’ll begin with the plot. Too many storylines are incorporated in a half-assed manner. There’s an extended origin story which could have been a stand alone effort. Then Superman gets involved with Lois Lane, the reporter who figures out his secret identity (like, almost immediately) and tries to get a story on him, all while they fall into serious like. Throw in General Zod invading Earth and you have the clusterfuck that is Man of Steel. I would have much rather seen three separate movies than this mashup gone wrong.

The action sequences (found in the General Zod invasion portion) are over the top ridiculous. SPOILER ALERT! Clark and Zod destroy Metropolis almost entirely. Plus they do serious damage to the farmhouse in Smallville. There was no need to have destruction on a epic scale. It would take years and BILLIONS of dollars to restore the city to the way it was pre-Supes “saving” it.

destroyedmetropolis

Or perhaps TRILLIONS.

The romance between Superman and Lois is wholly unbelievable. Henry Cavill and Amy Adams are both wonderful actors in their own right. They just aren’t wonderful at playing a couple. I don’t even buy them as friends, let alone people who with a romantic attachment to each other. It was like watching wooden planks kiss. And that would just be ridiculous.

No passion is these eyes.

No passion is these eyes.

I hate to say it, but Amy Adams isn’t a very good Lois Lane. I’ve written about my intense girl crush on Lois before. She should be strong, independent, and fierce. Maybe it’s because I’ve never seen a redhead Lois. Or maybe it was her frail frame. Something about the performance lacked the spark that is Lois Lane and the movie suffered for it.

This does not work for me.

This does not work for me.

The only bright spot was the beauty that is Henry Cavill’s face. Yay?

Surprisingly this face is the most convincing thing in the movie.

Surprisingly this face is the most convincing thing in the movie.

One comment

  1. […] Day 18. A movie that disappointed you the most […]

Leave a Reply

