30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 15

Day 15- The first movie you saw in theatres

I have absolutely zero recollection of my first movie going experience but according to my mother we saw The Little Mermaid. So much about that makes sense to me. I can sing all of the songs (I totally kill “Part of Your World”), and I’m attracted to tall males with dark hair and blue eyes- Prince Eric. I may not be a redhead and I could never live without my voice but I can relate to Ariel.

Not exact;y a self-portrait.

Not exact;y a self-portrait.

Ariel would probably be classified as a hoarder (rightfully so). She has gadgets and gizmos aplenty. She has whosits and whatsits galore. I may not be quite as extreme, but I too have my collections. I own over 1,000 DVDs. That’s right. 1,000 glittering discs that are housed in six giant black cases. Put politely, the collection is epic. Put realistically, it’s fucking insane. I also have over 8,000 songs in my iTunes library, 18 cartons of books, and an ever growing shot glass collection.

"You want thingamabobs? I've got 20."

“You want thingamabobs? I’ve got 20.”

She wants to see what’s beyond her world. I would generally describe myself as a homebody but there’s a part of me that wants to get out and explore. I long to see Vatican City and Greece. I want to take a gondola around Florence and ride a Vespa through the streets of Rome. Stateside, I want to hear my shouts echo out over the Grand Canyon and ride ALL the rides at Disneyland and Universal Studios Hollywood.

"I wanna be where the people are."

“I wanna be where the people are.”

She wants to experience life rather than sleepwalking (sleepswimming?) through it. There are some days when I feel lie life is wake, work, sleep, repeat. I told myself when I moved that I would form a book club or join a hiphop dance class- something to keep the days from being monotonous. So far I’ve done approximately zero of those things. At least I have dear Husband to add a little spice to life. I go out way more than I would on my own and have met a lot of interesting people (even a cross-dressing violin player). I’d still like to become more involved at my own behest. I guess I just need a little bit of Ursula’s magic.

A sea witch to call my own.

A sea witch to call my own.

Above all, Ariel is curious. She wants to ask questions and get some answers. This is when I feel a true kinship to her. My love of knowledge seems to know no limits. I want to read all of the books, see all the sights, and hear about the experiences of every person I meet. As a child I read my junior encyclopedias from start to finish. Today I surf Wikipedia and blogs like there’s no tomorrow. I am on a never ending journey to learn all the things- just like my homegirl Ariel.

Spirit animal all day.

Spirit animal all day.

One comment

  1. […] Day 15. The first movie you saw in theaters […]

Leave a Reply

