30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 5

Day 05- Your favorite drama movie

I’ve always had a really difficult time deciding which movies are dramas. Okay, some movies are obvi drama all the way (Sophie’s Choice anyone?) but more often they blur into other categories as well: drama-comedy (I hate the word dramedy), drama-thriller, drama-action. Blurred lines for real.

I looked through my DVDpedia (BEST APP EVER) for some genre clarification and only became more confused. I guess Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is a drama? After much puzzlement, I finally came across the hidden gem I was looking for- my favorite drama is The Virgin Suicides.

titlecard

I always wanted to be one of the Lisbon sisters, minus the whole killing myself thing. They are beautiful, intelligent, and haunted. Exactly what every teenage girl longs to be. Also, the only time I have EVER wanted to be anything resembling Kirsten Dunst.

lisbonsisters

Being able to relate to characters in a drama is often next to impossible. I’ve never been to war or had cancer. But I have been a depressed young girl who likes to write in her diary and listen to music whilst having a sad.

therapy

Speaking of music, the soundtrack is pretty much perfect. One might question how a soundtrack is an important factor in a drama movie. Try watching one without the sound off. “How Can You Mend a Broken Heart” and “I’m Not in Love” lend depth to their scenes.

  1. “Magic Man” – Heart
  2. “Hello, It’s Me” – Todd Rundgren
  3. “Everything You’ve Done Wrong” – Sloan
  4. “Ce Matin L.A.” – Air
  5. “The Air That I Breathe” – The Hollies
  6. “How Can You Mend a Broken Heart” – Al Green
  7. “Alone Again (Naturally)” – Gilbert O’Sullivan
  8. “I’m Not in Love” – 10cc
  9. “A Dream Goes On Forever” – Todd Rundgren
  10. “Crazy On You” – Heart
  11. “Playground Love (Vibraphone Version)” – Air
  12. “Come Sail Away” – Styx
telephone

Mundane without the right music.

Like all Sofia Coppola movies, everything is beautiful. Even humdrum objects around the house. The beauty makes everything more tragic. The sunlit house becomes a prison. The half-empty perfume bottles are mementos of a dead girl. A field becomes a place of abandonment.

lisbonhouse

beautifulthings

field

The most beautiful of all? Trip Fontaine- the real stone fox.

tripp

Why, hell yes, I will come in. Despite your shit haircut.

tripp2

Magic Man indeed.

Added bonus: young Hayden Christensen.

hayden

Always a sight to behold.

Honorable mention: Beautiful Girls, Being There, Edward Scissorhands, Fried Green Tomatoes, Life as a House, The Rules of Attraction

One comment

  1. […] Day 05. Your favorite drama movie […]

Leave a Reply

