30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 4

Day 04- Your favorite horror movie

I am an avid horror movie fan. One of my favorite feelings in the world is being scared and a good horror movie will have me terrified. While there are many to love (especially the thrillers of the 70’s), I am definitely a product of my generation. My favorite horror movie is Scream.

scream

Drew Barrymore, billed as one of the leads, bites it within the first ten minutes. At the time it was almost unheard of to kill off the most famous actress in the movie from the get-go. It was a great way to let the audience know that no one was safe.

caseyscream

casey

Ghostface seemed to be hiding behind every door and lurking in every corner. He’s even in seemingly innocuous places like the high school. It makes it creepier to think that he could be anywhere at anytime.

closet

principa

garage

newsvan

The dialogue is snappy and fairly realistic. Any high school based movie written by adults runs the risk of trying to sound too cool. Slang or “hip” language is often overused to try to make the movie appeal to teenagers. Note to screenwriters: please stop doing this.

This is something a teenager would say.

This is something a teenager would say.

There are genuinely funny moments. The movie doesn’t take itself too seriously. Even when serious things are going down like girls in your English class getting murdered, life still goes on. And life can be a funny thing.

Please note the look on the face of the girl in the background.

Please note the look on the face of the girl in the background.

Sidney is badass. Sure, she spends a little time having a sad about her mom being murdered and thinking her boyfriend is a killer (which -SPOILER ALERT- was true). But at the end of the day she handles shit.

Gale-Randy-Billy-and-Sidney-scream-23148646-499-198

Damn straight.

Tiny side story/Childhood Bestie shout out: When I was approximately 11/12ish, my mom’s Bestie (aka Mister J) lived with us. One night I was having a sleepover with Childhood Bestie and we were watching Scream (because duh). Mister J decided it would be hilarious to sneak outside and throw snowballs at my window when Ghostface jumped out. Of course it scared the shit out of me and C.B. She was the rational one, so she sat on the bed screaming like a normal person would do. I was the insane one, so I jumped off my top bunk and ran outside toward the killer (or snowball thrower- potato, pohtatoh). Needless to say, I don’t think I’d survive in the world of Scream.

One comment

  1. […] Day 04. Your favorite horror movie […]

Leave a Reply

