30 Day Movie Challenge: Day 1

Day 01- Your favorite movie

peterpanposter

This is the easiest question I have ever answered in a challenge. My favorite movie is the Disney animated version of Peter Pan. Always has been, always will be.

Who hasn’t dreamed of being whisked away to a land full of fun and no responsibilities? One where you never grow up, never have to face the music of adulthood. Instead you can lounge in a hammock and play music all day long. Or swim with mermaids. Or capture Indians. Or fight pirates. That’s what Peter Pan promises.

This could so be my life.

This could so be my life.

I can remember being about four or five years old, playing Peter Pan at my grandparents’ house. I insisted on being Peter even though I had a male cousin and little brother who could have filled the role. Peter was my first fictional role model. He’s the first movie character I remember looking up to. I wanted to chase my shadow and fly around.

peterpaniswonderful

Story of my life.

Wendy was one of the first positive female role models I saw on film. She is brave, independent, intelligent, and resourceful. She wouldn’t abandon her brothers to chase her dream of living with Peter Pan and was the one to insist they return to their parents.

wendy

There are surprising bits of humor that I still laugh at to this day. The nonchalance of the mermaids after attempting to kill Wendy is one of my favorite things. I still quote it to this day.

drownher

The alligator obsessed with getting a larger taste of Captain Hook is another of my favorites. It’s a great way to give dimension to the villain. I love how the tick-tock sound of the clock he ate makes Hook’s mustache start twitching.

hookandtock

Comedic villains are the best villains.

Most importantly, the movie teaches everyone that they can fly. With faith, hope, and pixie dust, even the impossible can be achieved.

youcanfly

3 comments

  1. […] Day 01. Your favorite movie […]

  2. […] already wrote about my favorite animated movie in the post for day 1, and it would be cheating to retread old territory. So today I am going to write about my second […]

  3. […] Pan is my fave movie character of all time, but again, I don’t want to rehash old posts. I thought it would be difficult to come up with an alternative character to write about. Lucky for […]

Leave a Reply

