30 Day Song Challenge: Day 29

Day 29- A song that you remember from your childhood

“Poison” / Bell Biv DeVoe (1990)

This one was really tricky because I associate so much music with my childhood. I blame my mom. Not only was there an abundance of New Jack Swing (which is pretty much the best musical genre ever invented), but soft rock from her childhood and new wave from her teenage years. Throw in some of the lighter alternative fare and add a dash of contemporary country, and you have a small fraction of the music played in my house when I was growing up.

One of the reasons I love this song so much is that I remember dancing around to it as a little kid. I would have been approximately three or four years old when it came out but I vividly remember shaking my booty to it, usually while watching my mother get ready for work or to go out. It makes me think of fun times and goofing around.

Also, Dance Central. The moves for this song are AMAZING and I can’t help but bust them out in real life. Snare is my absolute favorite step while Funky Charleston is the bane of my existence. I cannot seem to get it right. The real gem is the Butt Shake & Smile and Poison combo. It’s magical. Have no clue what any of that means? Check out the video below.

3 comments

  1. This was a good cleaning the house jam, too. Got us all motivated. 🙂

    1. It is probably the most motivating song in the world. Obviously.

  2. […] Day 29. A song that you remember from your childhood […]

Leave a Reply

