30 Day Song Challenge: Day 28

Day 28- A song by an artist with a voice that you love

“Man Who Sold the World” / David Bowie (1970)

I am always amazed when people haven’t heard “The Man Who Sold the World”. I recently found out that this group included Bestie, Boyfriend and my favorite ginger (MFG). I almost died of shock. I immediately played it for Boyfriend because ALL of the people should know this song. I mean, hell, this is the voice of Ziggy Stardust and the Thin White Duke.

The bassline from this song is one of my favorite. It’s very groovy and I find it instantly recognizable. A guiro was played to make the sort of washboard effect. It’s traditionally used in Latin American songs which is why it’s so cool to hear it in the song. Unexpected but amazing.

Also, it was used in Gilmore Girls when Lane and Dave have their first kiss and I have been eternally jealous since. Why couldn’t I coordinate any of my first kisses with the playing of this song?

One comment

  1. […] Day 28. A song by an artist with a voice that you love […]

Leave a Reply

