30 Day Song Challenge: Day 23

Day 23- A song you think everybody should listen to

“Boys Don’t Cry” / The Cure (1979)

I am a HUGE fan of The Cure in general. I know that it makes me sound like a huge goth poseur to say it, but it’s the straight up truth. The Cure is one of the only bands I have come across who a song to capture every one of my moods. Feeling in love? Put on “Just Like Heaven”. Want to hear something dark and moody? Try “Lullaby”. Need a song that’s light? See “Six Different Ways”. All of their songs are amazing but one really stands out for me: “Boys Don’t Cry”.

I love the contrast between the sad lyrics and the upbeat tune. Robert Smith sings about a man who has given up on regaining his lost love over a dance beat and it’s awesome. I find the lyrics to be the best part; they’re just so true to life. Who can’t relate with this?

Misjudged your limit
Pushed you too far
Took you for granted
I thought that you needed me more

Now I would do most anything
To get you back by my side
But I just keep on laughing
Hiding the tears in my eyes
Because boys don’t cry

One comment

  1. […] Day 23. A song that you think everybody should listen to […]

Leave a Reply

