30 Day Song Challenge: Day 22

Day 22- A song that moves you forward

“Macho Man” / Village People (1978)

This is super embarrassing, but there is no song that gets me more pumped and motivated for the day than “Macho Man”. I like to blame Joss Whedon for this. “Witch”, the third episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, features a scene in which bewitched Buffy comes down to her kitchen super pumped for cheerleading try-outs, singing “Macho Man”. It is freaking adorable. It also gets stuck in my head every time I watch that scene. And I watch Buffy often. Actually, what’s one step further than often? Because it’s probably that.

I can’t help but feel just as pumped as Buffy when I hear (or rather force myself to hear by singing) the song. It lifts up my spirit and I get excited to kick the day’s ass. Also, it makes me want to dance and/or lift a bunch of weights. I guess I’m just one of those people who is highly susceptible to subliminal (or completely obvious) messages. No matter, I love this song and I’m okay with expressing that love.

One comment

  1. […] Day 22. A song that moves you forward […]

Leave a Reply

