30 Day Song Challenge: Day 21

Day 21- A favorite song with a person’s name in the title

“Maggie May” / Rod Stewart (1971)

I’d like to preface this post by saying that I mostly hate this song. Honestly, how could I not given that EVERY SINGLE PERSON IN THE WORLD feels inclined to sing it to me when I tell them my name is Maggie. Why would you start singing the words “Oh Maggie, I wish I’d never seen your face” to a stranger? Even if it was true, talk about rude. What if I was super sheltered and had never heard the song before? I would go around assuming people had conspired to be assholes to me.

That being said, I also have a very small fond spot in heart for the song. And it’s all due to Bestie. There was a night in college when we were hanging out in our student lounge after a party. I had been wearing a cowboy hat that Bestie took and placed upon her own head. My natural response was to try to remove it using my foot. Drunk + total lack of coordination in general = Bestie getting kicked in the head. It was mildly hilarious.

The next morning I awoke to the following lyrics being played at my sleeping (well, not anymore) head: “All you did was wreck my bed/
And in the morning kick me in the head/ Oh Maggie I couldn’t have tried anymore”. It made me laugh thinking back to the night before. Now when I am assaulted with the song by strangers, I can think back to that night and give a little internal chuckle rather than punching people in the face. And I like to think that’s a good thing.

One comment

  1. […] Day 21. A favorite song with a person’s name in the title […]

Leave a Reply

