30 Day Song Challenge: Day 19

Day 19- A song that makes you think about life

“I Hope Tomorrow Is Like Today” / Guster

The lyrics are very simple but carry a lot of meaning. I think that’s one of the things that makes the song so special. I view the song as both happy and sad. I interpret the song as such: the singer is in a fading relationship. He wants to capture the bit of spark that’s remaining, therefore he hopes that tomorrow is like today. The song really makes me examine past relationship I’ve had and wonder whether or not there was a point where the other person felt this way. Or a time I felt this way and was unable/afraid to admit it to myself.

Please feel free to post your interpretations in the comments. Here are the lyrics for your perusal:

I’m awake, you’re still sleeping
The sun will rise like yesterday
Everything that we are now
Is everything we can’t let go
Or it’s gone forever, far away

I hope tomorrow is like today
Like today

Don’t you go away tomorrow
I don’t think I could handle that
You’re probably dreaming that you’re flying on
Then you start to fall but then you rise
And shine forever don’t go away

I hope tomorrow is like today [x2]
Na na na …
Like today [x3]
I hope tomorrow is like today [x3]
Like today

One comment

  1. […] Day 19. A song that makes you think about life […]

Leave a Reply

