30 Day Song Challenge: Day 17

Day 17- A song that you would sing as a duet on karaoke

“Islands in the Stream” / Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton (1983)

I genuinely hope that I get to sing this song as a duet one day. But only if I can sing it with Bestie. We’ve given many impromptu performances but nothing as official as karaoke. To do that I would first have to be able to convince people to come to karaoke with me. I have this secret dream that I’ll go to a karaoke bar/night and people will be in awe by how awesome I sound and want me to serenade them all night. Except I sound a little like a dying cat when I sing so this achievement will probably remain locked.

The love for “Islands in the Stream” comes from The Office. Jim throws a party (complete with karaoke machine) that Michael crashes. It is super obvious that everyone is uncomfortable partying with their boss so he decides to sing “Islands in the Stream” hoping to loosen things up. Except none of the females will duet with him so he sings both parts. The falsetto he puts on for the female parts is equal parts hilarious and amazing. Eventually Jim steps in and helps him out. It is one of my favorite moments in the history of The Office and made me fall a little in love with “Islands in the Stream” and Jim Halpert.

 

3 comments

  1. Wait… What?! No R. Kelly??? “Trapped in the closet, closet…” 🙂

    1. I’m not sure how that would be broken up into a duet. Also, chapter 1 thru 12 run at approximately 42 minutes. It might BLOW PEOPLE’S MINDS.

  2. […] Day 17. A song that you would sing as a duet on karaoke […]

Leave a Reply

