30 Day Song Challenge: Day 16

Day 16- One of your favorite classical songs

“Nocturne in E-flat major, Op. 9, No. 2” / Chopin (1832)

“Nocturne in E-flat major, Op. 9, No. 2” has been my favorite piece of classical music since I was approximately nine years old. I heard a little clip of the song on a CD my mother had received in the mail. It featured short clips of various famous classical pieces, hoping they would entice you into buying the entire collection. We never did buy it, I was enamored with the sampler disc. My favorite bit was Chopin, of course, and I soon purchased a CD that contained the entire work.

I think it was the first time I ever fell in love with a song. I would pretend I was a ballerina and dance to the beginning of the song. The opening bars and main theme are quite melodic, almost lulling you. But it’s a trick because eventually you reach the coda. It’s played feverishly, passionately. It’s my favorite part of the piece. The song ends as it began, very calming.

If you also enjoy “Nocturne in E-flat major, Op. 9, No. 2” I highly suggest listening to Chopin’s other nocturnes. They are all beautiful and special.

Honorable mention: “Tocatta and Fugue in D Minor” by Bach, “Gymnopedie No. 1” by Erik Satie, “Suite Bergamasque- 3. Clair de lune” by Claude Debussy
One comment

  1. […] Day 16. One of your favorite classical songs […]

Leave a Reply

