Hey, Watch This!: Shag

Summer is quickly approaching, which naturally makes me think of my favorite summer movies. I can think of no other movie that screams SUMMER harder than Shag.

shag-the-movie-movie-poster-1020262347

PLOT

Four recent high school graduates spend an adventurous weekend at the beach finding romance and dancing their hearts out.

WHY YOU SHOULD WATCH

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. This movie made me obsessed with the idea of traveling to Myrtle Beach with my best girl friends to have a debauched weekend, drinking beers and meeting boys. While it hasn’t happened yet, I still hold out hope that this could one day be my reality.

Shag_-_Myrtle_Beach_arrival

1vidshag3

Amazing fashion choices. Who wouldn’t want clothes like this? I am particularly partial to Carson’s wardrobe. She has so many pretty dresses!

tumblr_lrj8nq5hXb1qk4iq9o1_500 shag 12 Shag+16

It’s crazy quotable. True story- I was on the phone with my mom Monday night and quoted this movie to her when describing how I threw out my back. AND IT WAS FANTASTIC.

I threw out my hip doing the twist and was in the hospital. My parents have banned the twist forever.

I would pay money to rub sunscreen on Robert Rusler circa 1989. Like, serious bank.

buzzsuncreen

I want to play whatever game Chip and Pudge are playing. When I first started getting to know my boyfriend I asked him tons of questions. Like, I legit had a huge list of over 100 questions. They weren’t the same questions Chip and Pudge ask, but I would certainly be curious.  I mean, look how into it they get:

Shag+10

Shag+11

Modern ballet is trashy looking. Despite this, I desperately wanted to put on a bikini and dance to “Dixie”. I know, so white trash it almost hurts.

It’s especially white trash if you wear the confederate flag on your bathing suit:

dixie

Jimmy Valentine is just about the cutest imitation Elvis Presley ever. After one viewing you’ll be saying, “I can’t believe I’m making out with Jimmy Valentine.” Just don’t wear whatever it is that Melaina is wearing. That’s sort of a general rule.

3

Can I interest you in one of the sickest house parties ever? There is a bucket of booze that people drink from via high heel, a crazy guy in a Hawaiian shirt and straw hat, mean girls toilet papering the front yard, and super hot shirtless guys that want to sandwich you. Plus you get to wake up on a couch outside.

 w964

Screen shot 2012-07-07 at 1.13.42 PM

Screen shot 2012-07-07 at 1.14.52 PM

Or you might wake up from the party in the bath tub with the dude you’ve been crushing on. Either way, it is pretty much the most amazing party committed to film.

annabeth_shag20

Carolina Shag dancing. I am all about this. I would pay for lessons to learn this. In fact, I discovered that there are people who will teach you to dance like Pudge and Chip for $10. AMAZING. You will be responsible for finding your own banging blue dress though.

02003b1b2352664638acd664cf24e3d0

I heart everything about this soundtrack. It is full of my favorite music. Beware if you aren’t watching the original VHS- some of the songs have been changed due to copyright infringement. Here is the original line up:

shagstill08

“The Shag” by Tommy Page
“Harlem Shuffle” by Bob And Earl
“Saved” by La Vern Baker
“Let Me In” by The Sensations
“Easier Said Than Done” by The Essex
“What Kind Of Fool Do You Think I Am” by The Tams
“Stay” by The Voltage Brothers
“Since I Don’t Have You” by The Skyliners
“Diddly Daddy” by Chris Isaak
“Seven Lonely Days” by K.D. Lang And The Reclines
“Shaggin’ On The Grand Stand” by Hank Ballard
“Catfight” by Andy Paley
“Ready To Go Steady” by The Charmettes
“39-21-46 Shape” by The Showmen
“Monkey Time” by Major Lance
“Dixie” by The Royal Doulton Band
“Up On The Roof” by The Drifters
“Weekend Whirlwind” by Ehm’s Law
“Under The Boardwalk” by The Drifters
“Oooo Ahhh” by Jacki O
“Alley Cat Song” by Bent Fabric
“Oh, What A Night” by Nick Kamen
“Blue Hawaii” by Elvis Presley
“I’m In Love Again” by Randy Newman
“Alley Oop” by The Hollywood Argyles
“Baby Work Out” by Jackie Wilson
“I’m Leaving It All Up To You” by La Vern Baker and Ben E. King
“Everyday I Have To Cry” by Ben E. King
“Sixty-Minute Man” by The Voltage Brothers
“It Will Stand” by The Showmen
“Stagger Lee” by Lloyd Price
“Our Day Will Come” by K.D. Lang And The Reclines
“Surrender” by Louise Goffin

WHERE HAVE I SEEN YOU BEFORE?

Phoebe Cates as Carson

Phoebe Cates as Carson

  • Linda Barrett in Fast Times at Ridgemont High
  • Kate in Gremlins
Bridget Fonda as Melaina

Bridget Fonda as Melaina

  • Peggy in You Can’t Hurry Love
  • Mandy in Scandal
Annabeth Gish as Pudge

Annabeth Gish as Pudge

  • Ryan in Hiding Out
  • Kat Arujo in Mystic Pizza
Page Hannah as Luanne

Page Hannah as Luanne

  • Kate Riley on Fame
  • Lydia in The In Crowd
Robert Rusler as Buzz

Robert Rusler as Buzz

  • Max in Weird Science
  • Ron Grady in A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy’s Revenge

Scott Coffey as Chip

  • Adams in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
  • Ray in Some Kind of Wonderful
Tyrone Power, Jr. as Harley

Tyrone Power, Jr. as Harley

  • Pillsbury in Cocoon
  • Pillsbury in Cocoon: The Return
Jeff Yagher as Jimmy Valentine

Jeff Yagher as Jimmy Valentine

  • Kyles Bates on V: The Series
  • Jordan in Big Bad Mama 2
Leave a Reply

