Just Listen: Disney Songs, Part 1

Like most people my age, I grew up listening to Disney soundtracks. The difference between me and my peers? I still listen to them. On the regular. While others might be embarrassed, I think we’ve established that I have little to no filter and am therefore used to embarrassing myself.

I wanted to share with you a small fraction of my favorite Disney songs.

“One Jump Ahead” / Aladdin (1992)

This is the song that plays when we are introduced to Aladdin, a “street rat” and amateur thief who is stealing a loaf of bread to feed him and his monkey Abu. It’s upbeat and catchy (which I am a sucker for) and helped me learn the term nom de plume. And we all know how much I love the learning.

“Scales and Arpeggios” / The Aristocats (1970)

I can’t explain when I enjoy a song sung by a stuck up little girl cat, I just do. I think it has something to do with the amazing piano work. Growing up I wanted to learn to play the piano more than almost anything. Also, even though I basically hate cats with the fiery passion of the burning sun, the little black cat that plays it is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. I love when he wiggles his eyebrows at his sister.

“Belle” / Beauty and the Beast (1991)

Despite this being one of my least favorite Disney movies when I was a child, it has one of my favorite soundtracks of all time. I think I relate to this song so much because I have always considered Belle the Disney princess most like myself. Not the whole letting a guy capture me and trap me in his house thing, but a book-loving outsider who doesn’t take crap from other people.

“Gaston” / Beauty and the Beast (1991)

This is truly my favorite Disney song of all time. I grew up having the biggest crush on Gaston ever. I understand that he’s the villain, but that almost makes him even better (I have seriously problems, I know). I am notorious for being attracted to assholes, and perhaps that stems from Gaston. He goes around spitting and wearing big boots and hitting people. Pretty much a snapshot of my childhood. We even had matching black ponytails. The best part of this song? Trying to put on a deep manly voice when I sing his parts. It sounds hilarious and is generally amazing.

“The Work Song” / Cinderella (1950)

I love Cinderella’s mice friends from the bottom of my heart. They are the warmest-hearted creatures of all time. And they make beautiful gowns, singing the entire time. That is awesome. My favorite part? When the female head mouse tells Jaq and Gus to leave the sewing to the women. It is a completely antiquated gender stereotype, but I get a kick out of it.

“After Today” / The Goofy Movie (1995)

What’s not to like about this song? You get to sing in a variety of voices, which is pretty much the best. You get to be excited and slightly depressed (for like, a second). You get to speak gibberish along with Max when he sees Roxanne. It’s perfect.

“I Wan’na Be Like You” / The Jungle Book (1967)

Louis Prima is one of my favorite jazz artists of all time, making this song a no-brainer for this list. But the best part of the entire song is the white haired monkey that imitates a trumpet with his voice (something I strive to do well) and whistles. That monkey is the shit.

“Hawaiian Rollercoaster Ride” / Lilo and Stitch (2002)

I can’t stand this movie, but I love this song. Truthfully, it is probably the largest factor in my desire to visit Hawaii. I like to imagine that all of the citizens wander around singing this song all the time. Foolish? Yes. Will I keep imagining it anyway? Most definitely.

“Part of Your World” / The Little Mermaid (1989)

I sing this song in the shower on the regular. This is obviously the best place to sing it, as it is the closest I can come to singing underwater. While my voice sounds nothing like Ariel’s, I like to think I’m no slouch. I think everyone can relate to this song- wanting something more than what you have.

“Poor Unfortunate Souls” / The Little Mermaid (1989)

Ursula is a straight up gangster. She is my favorite Disney villain of all time. While I could never sound like her in my wildest dreams, I try awfully hard. The lyric that’s the most fun to sing? “On the whole I’ve been a saint”. It sounds hilarious, trust me.

Leave a Reply

