Just Listen: “Head Over Heels”

“Head Over Heels” is a fantastic new wave love song performed (originally) by Tears for Fears. I went through a period a couple of years ago when I was seriously into this song. It was the ringtone on my cell phone and the most played song on my iPod. I was basically in love with it.

While it has slowly moved down the list of most played songs, it will always have a special place in my heart. It is because of this love that I searched the internet to find the best covers/remakes to share with you. Check it out!

Tears for Fears (1985)

From the first wails of the guitar, I am hooked. Roland Orzabal has a very unique voice that gives it an interesting flavor. He sounds desperate by the end of the lyrics. Of course, I’m a sucker for the synthesizers at the end. It’s the primary reason why I listen to so much new wave music.

Digital Daggers (2010)

While I’m not known for being partial to female voices, this is my favorite remake of the song. It’s very soft; her vocals and the string backing give the song a more romantic, longing feel than the original. I am a little disappointed that they didn’t do their own version of the synthpop ending.

Slow Moving Millie (2011)

I was surprised by how much I liked this remake. I appreciate that she is doing her own thing, making the song her own. The timing is quite different, as is the beat. The twinkling gives it an ethereal sound.

Samamidon

This is the most hysterical remake. I have to agree with one of the youtube commentators- this sounds like Bert and Ernie covering the song. Amazing or horrible? You be the judge.

2 comments

  1. Ah… Senior year of high school. How time flies.

    1. I wish they had music this good during my senior year of high school. You had this and I had “Hollaback Girl”. Somehow this doesn’t seem like a fair trade.

Leave a Reply

