Hey, Watch This!: 21 Jump Street

I love to laugh. I think true laughter is one of the best feelings on earth. When I saw 21 Jump Street in the theatre, I wasn’t expecting very much. I recognized the obvious hotness of Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill had cracked me up in other movies so I thought the movie would be decent, but I couldn’t have predicted the outrageous, snorting laughter that issued from my person. I have showed the movie to countless friends and family members and have recommended it to even more.

poster

PLOT

Two young, bumbling cops go undercover as high school students to stop the outbreak of a new drug and track down the supplier.

WHY YOU SHOULD WATCH

Flashback. The flashback at the beginning of the film reminds me so much of my senior year of high school, which just happens to have been in 2005. I knew kids that looked exactly like Schmidt and Jenko. Especially Schmidt. The Eminem bleached blonde hair and white t-shirt/jeans combo was EVERYWHERE.

Jenko reading the Miranda rights. “You have the right to… suck my dick, motherfucker!” Poor Jenko just can’t get it right. After all, they always cut away during that part on TV.

tumblr_mfnzf1eX4Q1rl6neno1_500

Billiam’s drug video. Over-Falsity of Confidence is my favorite phase. I have to agree with Jenko, I could watch this kid all day.

The hot Franco brother. While I may have had a thing for James Franco in Freaks and Geeks, Dave Franco is definitely the hotter of the Franco brothers. So he’s a drug dealer. Who cares when you’re this good looking:

Schmidt and Jenko trying to vomit up the drugs they are forced to take while undercover. I almost died of laughter when Jenko said, “Let’s just…let’s just finger each others mouths.” So fucked up but so hilarious.

Schmidt and Jenko on drugs. The laughs just keep coming. Schmidt becomes a super confident singer (with ridiculous results), auditioning for Peter Pan. Jenko wows his AP Chemistry class, resulting in my favorite GIF in the entire world:

fuckscience

“It rhymes with grape!”

rhymeswithgrape

Doves released while walking into prom. Who wouldn’t want to make this happen?

doves

Best friends. Schmidt and Jenko may have disagreeemnts but at the end of the day (and the movie), they are best friends. They have each others’ backs to the point where one of them takes a bullet for the other. That’s hardcore friendship.

WHERE HAVE I SEEN YOU BEFORE?

Channing Tatum as Greg Jenko

  • Duke Orsino in She’s the Man
  • Tyler Gage in Step Up
  • Antonio in A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints

Jonah Hill as Morton Schmidt

  • Sherman Schrader in Accepted
  • Seth in Superbad
  • Matthew the Waiter in Forgetting Sarah Marshall

Brie Larson as Molly

  • Liz Daniels in Sleepover
  • Angie in Remember the Daze
  • Envy Adams in Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

Dave Franco as Eric

  • Gonzo on Greek
  • Zachary on Privileged
  • Mark in Fright Night

Ice Cube as Captain Dickson

  • Darin “Doughboy” Baker in Boyz n the Hood
  • Craig Jones in Friday
  • Calvin Palmer in BarberShop
Leave a Reply

