Fake Boyfriend: Logan Echolls

Veronica: “And let’s not forget Logan Echolls. Every school has an obligatory psychotic jackass. He’s ours.” (Pilot 1.01)

Had you asked me to rank the characters introduced in the pilot episode of Veronica Mars, Logan would have been somewhere at the bottom. The “obligatory psychotic jackass” seemed like another stereotypical bully with few (if any) redeeming qualities. I mean, come on! Paris Hilton as a girlfriend? That’s almost inexcusable. Despite this, as the season went on, I found myself falling in serious like. Everything about him seemed more attractive- his personality, his sense of humor, his face. Logan Echolls may be my fictional soulmate.

MOMENTS

Ruskie Business 1.15

logan-crying-wv-1

Logan breaks down in Veronica’s arms after learning his mother committed suicide. This is the first glimpse of the Logan that he will become- someone vulnerable. It is a huge stepping stone in Logan and Veronica’s relationship.

Weapons of Class Destruction 1.18

kiss

Veronica and Logan’s first kiss happens after he “saves” her from Ben, the ATF agent. The music swells (the perfectly selected “Momentary Thing” by Something Happens) and one of the most amazing first kisses commences.

Also, I couldn’t find a video that I could embed, so please watch on youtube. It is well worth having the extra window/tab pop up.

Hot Dogs 1.19

Logan decides to move on. He knows that Lilly cheated on him with several other guys and decides that he isn’t going to feel guilty for having feelings for Veronica. More adorable smooches ensue.

M.A.D. 1.20

2987318739_1_3_JqS60NJZ

tumblr_inline_mgry3ifrsp1rbxqza

kisssink

2987318739_1_11_AmPFUaYF

Logan and Veronica have a serious make out sesh in the bathroom. While I’m not usually into the bathroom as a romantic setting, there is no denying the serious chemistry that happens here.

A Trip to the Dentist 1.21

Logan declares Veronica is his girlfriend at his surprise party. He gives an amazing speech that every girl dreams about:

“Get out of my house. You have a problem with Veronica, you leave. Actually, you have a problem with Veronica, you’re pretty much dead to me, so just, like, evaporate or something, I dunno. That’s pretty much a general invitation. If you don’t like my girlfriend, then start heading towards the big rectangle with the knob.”

Ahoy, Mateys! 2.08

Logan saves Veronica from the very psychotic Liam Fitzpatrick. While I’m not super pumped that he is carrying a gun around (loaded or unloaded doesn’t matter), it was very brave/stupid move.

One Angry Veronica 2.10

Logan buys the Aaron Echolls/Lilly Kane sex tape and erases it. His tears make me have tears.

Plan B 2.17

Logan and Veronica dance at the Sadie Hawkins dance. It is my favorite kind of dancing. You know, where their foreheads are almost touching as they gaze at each other. How are they not back together at this point?

Look Who’s Stalking 2.20

Logan gives Veronica the EPIC love speech. This is monumental. He tells Veronica that she broke his heart. He is adorable, slowly scooting closer and closer to her. Damn Veronica, just let him kiss you!

Not Pictured 2.22

Logan saves Veronica from Cassidy Casablancas. How many times does a guy have to save a girl’s life before he is a bonafide hero?

Spit and Eggs 3.09

Logan gets himself thrown into jail so he can exact revenge on Moe and Mercer for trying to attack Veronica.

The Bitch is Back 3.20

Logan the badass returns as he fights for Veronica’s honor. He is killing to risk his life by attacking the guy that posted a very sexy video of Veronica and current boyfriend Piz (boo hiss) on the internet. Logan is amazing.

QUOTABLES

annoy protectyou
marshmallowsandpromises onlyyou

“Nice car. God, it must’ve been a huge cereal box.” (You Think You Know Somebody 1.05)

“Come on, everybody, wang chung tonight! What? Everybody, wang chung tonight! Wang chung or I’ll kick your ass!” (Ruskie Business 1.15)

“Hmm, would you look at that? There’s a string attached to my Pop Tart.” (Hot Dogs 1.19)

“My underbelly is rock hard. It can go all night.” (Cheatty Cheatty Bang Bang 2.03)

accusedofevil

“My codeword will be… endurance.” (Nobody Puts Baby in a Corner 2.07)

“If you could exonerate me sometime soon, that’d be great. I really don’t want bottom bunk in Fisty McRapesalot’s cell.” (Ahoy, Mateys! 2.08)

“Oh, yes, where are my manners? Kendall Casablancas, Trina Echolls. Rode Hard, meet Put Away Wet.” (My Mother, the Fiend 2.09)

“Oh, God. When I’ve dreamed of this moment, ‘I’ve Had the Time of My Life’ was playing. Well, what can you do?” (Plan B 2.17)

“Thoughts of me? Hey, it get it. Sometimes I’m up all night, just thinkin’ about myself.” (I Am God 2.18)

“I’m not going to see you for a week. That’s like, a month.” (Not Pictured 2.22)

iloveyouveronica

BONUS POINTS

This is what he looks like with his shirt off:

tumblr_lxngas3ELQ1qzv4bpo1_500

That smile. It kills me.

images

3 comments

  1. […] the characters. Especially in their love lives. I’ve written about half of my favorite couple before, so I’ll keep this brief. Favorite ship? Logan and Veronica (better known as LoVe) on […]

  2. Seriously- it’s like you wrote this out of my own mind. 🙂

    1. I’m so happy that someone agrees with me! Yay for us!

Leave a Reply

