Just Listen: “Somethin’ Stupid”

In 1966 a little tune called “Something Stupid” was released by Carson and Gaile. I was unable to find a clear video of the original, which is a crying shame. It is an absolutely darling duet sung by husband and wife.

Few of my friends and acquaintances have ever heard of the song so I set out on a quest to find my favorite versions to present them with. Here are my findings:

Frank and Nancy Sinatra (1967)

This version is the one that is best known and climbed the furthest on the charts. Frank Sinatra could read a phone book and I would be happy, but this is one of my favorite songs that he sings. While it’s an odd duet to sing with his daughter given the lyrics, the blending of his voice with Nancy’s is wonderful. Her voice is so high and sweet, providing a perfect contrast.

The Secret Sisters (2010)

I had never heard of The Secret Sisters, which is so sad because this is just gorgeous. Their voices are absolutely beautiful together. I was a little worried about how they would pull it off with two female voices, but they knocked it out of the park. Besides their voices, I really enjoyed the arrangement. It almost makes me think of being in Hawaii. I have no clue why, but that is the image that it evokes.

Soymartino

This is a wonderful instrumental version, a fingerstyle arrangement on guitar. I happened upon it on youtube and ended up playing it multiple times; it was so enjoyable. It takes on an almost Latin flavor that I really, really love. Is it wrong to say that this might be my favorite of the entire bunch?

Leave a Reply

