Hey, Watch This!: A Very Potter Musical

I was late to the game with this one. I knew of the existence of a Harry Potter musical, but I had no clue how majestic it was. I now have two of the songs from the soundtrack in the Top 10 list on my iPod, and I’ve made all my friends watch it. This is basically the best 2 1/2 hours you can spend.

a very potter musical

PLOT

Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts and participates in the House Cup Championship while trying to defeat Voldemort and hook up with Cho Chang. He does it all with the help of his best friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger.

WHY YOU SHOULD WATCH

Harry is funny instead of mopey. As much as I love the book and movie versions of Harry, it’s nice to see him a little more happy and a lot less depressing. He coins the term supermegafoxyawesomehot, and sings. I promise you will love the singing.

totallyawesome

Joey Richter as Ron Weasley. I have to admit, I’m not really a fan of movie/book Ron. Joey makes the character for me. His reactions and delivery are the most wonderful thing I’ve ever seen. I especially enjoy when he shares pearls of wisdom such as: “You never tell a girl you like her, it makes you look like an idiot.” Plus, he is constantly eating. Who doesn’t love eating?

tumblr_kyyezjj7AY1qb7o6io1_500

Besties! Harry and Ron are the greatest pair of best friends that ever lived. They even man-hug.

tumblr_mhcv4yXVyU1qb6u5eo2_500

Draco Malfoy. Everything Draco does cracks me up. In this version he has a secret crush on Hermione, wants to attend Pigfarts (which is awesome), and rolls around on the floors and furniture. Hell, I’d watch JUST for the rolling. Also, “he” is played by Lauren Lopez, who is amazing in general.

5991921342_28cdfbf383

The rivalry between Draco and Ron for Hermione. Throughout the first act they accuse each other of having crushes on Hermione, who is considered basically revolting. They finally acknowledge and admit their feelings at the Yule Ball, culminating in the singing of “Granger Danger”.

AVPM-Gifs-starkidpotter-8676604-275

Snape is like you have never seen or imagined him before. I have no clue what voice Joe Moses is trying to make, but the one that comes out is hilarious. Also, the way he enters rooms is fantastic.

tumblr_mc6z3xyOcy1qem26lo1_500

This AMAZING dragon. I want one exactly like it at my house. People optional.

dragon

The props in general. A magical Zac Efron poster? Please get me one for my room. Also, cardboard cutouts of dragon.

Voldemort is hot and hilarious, which is a totally new thing. Who would have thought that He Who Must Not Be Named would have the sickest abs?

tumblr_lpyl62lEqI1qbnq3jo1_400

The music is fantastic. All of the songs are original, written by A.J. Holmes and Darren Criss. My personal favorites are “Gotta Get Back to Hogwarts”, “The Dragon Song”, and “Granger Danger”. Especially “Granger Danger”. This is at the top of my drunk repertoire.

1. Gotta Get Back to Hogwarts
2. Aren’t We an Odd Couple?
3. Different As Can Be
4. Hey, Ginny. Check This Out…
5. Ginny’s Song
6. Harry
7. Different As Can Be (Reprise)
8. The Dragon Song
9. Hey Cho, Check This Out…
10. Ginny’s Song Reprise (Cho’s Song)
11. Granger Danger
12. To Dance Again
13. There Are Pieces of You Missing
14. Missing You
15. Not Alone
16. Voldemort is Goin’ Down
17. Is Okay Good?
18. Not Alone/Goin’ Back to Hogwarts (Reprise)
19. Pigfarts, Pigfarts Here I Come…

CAST

As this was a college production, none of the cast were established actors. Darren Criss has gone on to become the most famous thanks to his role as Blaine Anderson on Glee.

Darren Criss as Harry Potter

Joey Richter as Ron Weasley

Bonnie Gruesen as Hermione Granger

Lauren Lopez as Draco Malfoy

Jaime Lyn Beatty as Ginny Weasley

Joe Walker as Voldemort

Dylan Saunder as Albus Dumbledore

Brian Rosenthal as Professor Quirrell

Joe Moses as Severus Snape

Tyler Brunsman as Cedric Diggory

OTHER TEAM STARKID PRODUCTIONS

  • Little White Lie
  • Me and My Dick
  • A Very Potter Sequel
  • Starship
  • Holy Musical B@man!
  • A Very Potter Senior Year

BONUS

The entire play is available to watch on youtube in bite size parts. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

