Cover Me: 00’s Edition

The aughts are very significant for me, musically. 2001 was the year I started high school and was introduced to new friends and, by extension, new music. This trend continued as I progressed through high school and entered college.

Here are my favorite covers and remakes of songs released from 2000-2009.

Bye Bye Bye - Punk Goes Pop “Bye Bye Bye” / Further Seems Forever / Originally N’Sync (2000)

Wherever, Whenever - Even Better Than The Real Thing Vol 1 “Whenever, Wherever” / Mundy / Originally Shakira (2001)

Heartbeats - Veneer “Heartbeats” / Jose Gonzalez / Originally The Knife (2002)

“Hey Ya!” / Obediah Parker / Originally OutKast (2003)

I Believe In a Thing Called Love - Time to Grow “I Believe in a Thing Called Love” / Lemar / Originally The Darkness (2003)

99 Problems - Old Tyme Religion “99 Problems” / Hugo / Originally Jay-Z (2004)

“Love Machine” / Arctic Monkeys / Originally Girls Aloud (2004)

I Turn My Camera On - The O.C. Mix 6 - Covering Our Tracks “I Turn My Camera On” / Rock Kills Kid / Originally Spoon (2005)

I Wanna Love You - Punk Goes Crunk “I Wanna Love You” / The Maine / Originally Akon (2006)

Valerie - Back to Black: B-Sides “Valerie” / Amy Winehouse / Originally The Zutons (2006)

Paper Planes - Punk Goes Pop, Vol. 3 “Paper Planes” / This Century / Originally M.I.A. (2008)

“Kids” / Yoda Will Always Be With You” / Originally MGMT (2008)

Black and Gold - Sweetheart “Black and Gold” / Katy Perry / Originally Sam Sparro (2008)

“Love in This Club” / The Automatic / Originally Usher (2008)

“I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How to Dance With You” / Kate Nash / Originally Black Kids (2008)

Down - Punk Goes Pop, Vol. 3 “Down” / Breathe Carolina / Originally Jay Sean (2009)

One comment

  1. […] of my favorite recent covers (because I have oh so many and it has been well documented here, here, here, here, and here) is “Love In This Club”, a cover of an Usher song done by The […]

Leave a Reply

