Cover Me: 70’s Edition

My mom is probably the largest musical influence in my life. I listen to a wide variety of genres (or so I like to think) and it is definitely because of her. Take, for instance, my eleventh birthday. She took me to see The Lowland Band of the Scottish Division perform A Scottish Family Christmas. Legit bagpipes. It is awesome and I still have my autographed CD. She also took me to see Def Leppard and Kid Rock because variety is the spice of life.

When I was growing up she played a lot of music from her childhood and teenage years. I absolutely believe that this is the foundation for my love of classic rock. I wanted to highlight some of my favorite covers and remakes from that time period. Enjoy!

Lola - In and Out of Consciousness - Greatest Hits 1990 - 2010 “Lola” / Robbie Williams / Originally The Kinks (1970)

How Can You Mend a Broken Heart - Let's Stay Together “How Can You Mend a Broken Heart” / Al Green / Originally The Bee Gees (1971)

You've Got a Friend - James Taylor: Greatest Hits, Vol. 1 “You’ve Got a Friend” / James Taylor / Originally Carole King (1971)

Wild Horses - Blind “Wild Horses” / The Sundays / Originally The Rolling Stones (1971)

Rocket Man - The Heart Is A Drum Machine (A Documentary Film About Music) “Rocket Man” / Steven Drozd / Originally Elton John (1972)

Tiny Dancer - Tim McGraw and The Dancehall Doctors “Tiny Dancer” / Tim McGraw / Originally Elton John (1972)

The Air That I Breathe - The Hollies' Greatest Hits “The Air That I Breathe” / The Hollies / Originally Albert Hammond (1972)

Blinded By the Light - The Best of Manfred Mann's Earth Band “Blinded By the Light” / Manfred Mann’s Earth Band / Originally Bruce Springsteen (1973)

Landslide - The Smashing Pumpkins: Greatest Hits “Landslide” / Smashing Pumpkins / Originally Fleetwood Mac (1975)

I Love Rock 'N Roll - I Love Rock 'N Roll (Remastered) “I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll” / Joan Jett and the Blackhearts / Originally The Arrows (1975)

Don't Fear the Reaper - Before After “(Don’t Fear) the Reaper” / Heaven 17 / Originally Blue Öyster Cult (1976)

Pretty Vacant - The O.C. Mix 6 - Covering Our Tracks “Pretty Vacant” / Lady Sovereign / Originally Sex Pistols (1977)

China Girl - Best of Bowie “China Girl” / David Bowie / Originally Iggy Pop (1977)

“You Sexy Thing” / Stereophonics / Originally Hot Chocolate (1975)

Leave a Reply

