Wednesday Night Dance Party Playlist

When I was in college, there was a standing appointment for a Wednesday Night Dance Party in the student lounge next to my bedroom. Occasionally it would be cancelled during times of high stress and intense studying (i.e mid-terms and finals), but you could generally count on it happening every week. And it was exactly what everyone needed. It was a chance to cut loose and be ridiculous

While I can’t remember any of the exact playlists that the amazing Ross and Nasi came up with, I wanted to create something in the same vein. I asked my roommate to be my lovely assistant in this task, as I do not listen to the radio and have missed out on a lot of current music. Here are my picks for an awesome Wednesday Night Dance Party:

Heartbeats - Deep Cuts “Heartbeats” / The Knife (2002)
Synthesizer - Fire “Synthesizer” / Electric Six (2003)
Shut Up and Let Me Go - Single - The Ting Tings “Shut Up and Let Me Go” / The Ting Tings (2008)
Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra) - What Did You Expect from the Vaccines? “Wreckin Bar (Ra Ra Ra) / The Vaccines (2010)
Jealous Girls - Standing In the Way of Control “Jealous Girls” / The Gossip (2007)
Bulletproof - La Roux (Bonus Track Version) “Bulletproof” / La Roux (2009)
Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger - Discovery “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger” / Daft Punk (2001)
What's My Name? (feat. Drake) - Loud “What’s My Name” / Rihanna feat. Drake (2010)
Till the World Ends - Femme Fatale (Deluxe Version) “Till the World Ends” / Britney Spears (2012)
Give Me Everything (feat. Ne-Yo, Afrojack & Nayer) - Planet Pit “Give Me Everything” / Pitbull feat. Ne-Yo, Afrojack and Nayer (2011)
One More Time - Discovery “One More Time” / Daft Punk (2001)
Dance Wiv Me (feat. Calvin Harris & Chrome) - Ready for the Weekend (Bonus Track Version) “Dance Wiv Me” / Dizzee Rascal feat. Calvin Harris and Chrome (2008)
Dancing On My Own - Body Talk, Pt. 1 “Dancing On My Own” / Robyn (2010)
On to the Next One (feat. Swizz Beatz) - The Blueprint 3 “On to the Next One” / Jay-Z feat. Swizz Beats (2009)
I'm Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How to Dance With You (The Twelves Remix) - I'm Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How to Dance With You - Single “I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How To Dance With You” / The Twelves (2008)
Release Me - Release Me - Single “Release Me” / Agnes (2008)

2 comments

  1. Maggie, can we have a WNDP this week? Please say you’re not working.

    1. I am in fact working. Maybe a FNDP?

Leave a Reply

