Hey, Watch This!: Now and Then

When I was a child, I was mildly (or majorly) obsessed with Devon Sawa. I ripped his picture out of magazines and taped them to my walls. I wrote his name inside of little hearts in my diary. I watched Casper just to see him at the very end. Basically, I was an average eight year old girl. Imagine my excitement when I found he was going to be in a movie with Wednesday Addams!

I may have come for Devon but I stayed for the group of friends that reminded me so much of my own. The movie soon became a staple at sleepovers, and I bet if I called those friend up now, we could still recite entire scenes verbatim.

Movie Cover

PLOT

A group of four childhood best friends reunite as adults and relive the summer of 1970 when they tried to solve the mystery of Dear Johnny and solidified what would become life-long friendships.

WHY YOU SHOULD WATCH

Best friends playing Red Rover. This is like a scene directly out of my childhood. I remember playing it on the playground and totally clothes-lining people. Did I mention I was kind of a tomboy?

Now-and-Then-thora-birch-5943638-852-480

The 70’s style. This dress is seriously amazing. I wanted one exactly like it when I was growing up, and I didn’t even wear dresses.

Best Bedroom

Chrissy’s mom is played by Bonnie Hunt and she is spectacular. She gives the most awkward sex talk using gardening as a metaphor. And I love every minute of it.

Chrissy Mom

The Wormers. A group of totally adorable brothers that ride around on awesome bikes throwing balloons filled with Jell-O.

nat95sc1

Janeane Garofalo plays a waitress/witch that refers to Coca-Colas as black cows. And she reads tarot cards. Can we please be besties?

Dear Johnny mystery. Why did he die? How did he die? I NEED TO KNOW.

tumblr_lgqzfrzPrC1qzjztqo1_500

French kissing= pregnant.

tumblr_m7a7gwbjAO1qjp6k3o1_500

When Samantha makes this face.

ENvqoR

The softball fight scene. I used to rewind this over and over again. I couldn’t find a quality video that lined up exactly so it starts at 8:48.

This kiss. I ALWAYS wanted my first kiss to be just like this one. And preferably with Devon Sawa.

Kiss

The tree house. Who didn’t want a tree house when they were a kid? The best we could do was an old tent.

The soundtrack. Excellent choices that you will listen to over and over.

1. Sugar, Sugar – The Archies
2. Knock Three Times – Tony Orlando & Dawn
3. I Want You Back – Jackson 5
4. Signed, Sealed, Deliverd I’m Yours – Stevie Wonder
5. Band Of Gold – Freda Payne
6. Daydream Believer – The Monkees
7. No Matter What – Badfinger
8. Hitchin’ A Ride – Vanity Fare
9. All Right Now – Free
10. I’m Gonna Make You Love Me – Diana Ross & The Supremes
11. I’ll Be There – Jackson 5
12. Now And Then – Susanna Hoffs

I probably mentioned this a few times, but Devon Sawa. Watch for Devon.

Scott2

WHERE HAVE I SEEN YOU BEFORE?

Gaby Hoffman as Young Samantha Albertson

  • Maizy in Uncle Buck
  • Jessica in Sleepless in Seattle
  • Odie in All I Wanna Do
  • Stephie in 200 Cigarettes

Demi Moore as Adult Samantha Albertson

  • Jules in St. Elmo’s Fire
  • Molly Jensen in Ghost
  • Hester Prynne in The Scarlet Letter
  • LT Jordan O’Neil in G.I. Jane

Christina Ricci as Young Roberta Martin

  • Wednesday Addams in The Addams Family
  • Wendy Hood in The Ice Storm
  • Val in 200 Cigarettes
  • Maggie Ryan on Pan Am

Rosie O’Donnell as Adult Roberta Martin

  • Doris Murphy in A League of Their Own
  • Becky in Sleepless in Seattle
  • Gina in Beautiful Girls
  • Ole Golly in Harriet the Spy

Thora Birch as Young Tina “Teeny” Tercell

  • Hallie in All I Want for Christmas
  • Dani in Hocus Pocus
  • Jane Burnham in American Beauty
  • Enid in Ghost World

Melanie Griffith as Adult Tina “Teeny” Tercell

  • Tess McGill in Working Girl
  • V in Milk Money

Ashleigh Aston Moore as Young Chrissy DeWitt

  • Tracy Briggs in Gold Diggers: The Secret of Bear Mountain
  • Ella in A Friend’s Betrayal

Rita Wilson as Adult Chrissy DeWitt

  • Suzy in Sleepless in Seattle
  • Marguerite in That Thing You Do!
  • Terri Bratley in The Chumscrubber

Devon Sawa as Scott Wormer

  • Junior Floyd in Little Giants
  • Mark Stouffer in Wild America
  • Alex Browning in Final Destination
  • Owen Elliott on Nikita

BEST WATCHED

With your childhood best friend.

Leave a Reply

