A Valentine’s Day Playlist

I wanted to stick with older tunes that aren’t too mushy. Other playlists I’ve seen go overboard on the whole “I can’t live without you” sentiment and that has never really been my thing. I tend to get really uncomfortable and feel the need to vacate the premises. Like, immediately.

Here is a selection of twenty romantic songs from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s that won’t leave you weeping from all the feels.

“You Send Me” / Sam Cooke (1957)
“In the Still of the Night” / The Five Satins (1956)
“Since I Don’t Have You” / The Skyliners (1958)
“I Only Have Eyes For You” / The Flamingos (1959)
“All I Have to Do Is Dream” / The Everly Brothers (1958)
“Crimson and Clover” / Tommy James and the Shondells (1968)
“My Girl” / The Temptations (1964)
“At Last” / Etta James (1960)
“That’s How Strong My Love Is” / Otis Redding (1965)
“That’s Where It’s At” / Sam Cooke (1964)
“I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)” / The Four Tops (1965)
“How Sweet It Is (To be Loved By You)” / Marvin Gaye (1964)
“You Belong To Me” / The Duprees (1962)
“Stay” / Maurice Williams and the Zodiacs (1960)
“You Sexy Thing” / Hot Chocolate (1975)
“Cruisin” / Smokey Robinson (1979)
“ABC” / Jackson 5 (1970)
“Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours” / Stevie Wonder (1970)
“Midnight Train to Georgia” / Gladys Knight and the Pips (1973)
“You’re the First, the Last, My Everything” / Barry White (1974)

One comment

  1. […] song in my previous song challenge. I also included it on two of my playlists: wedding and Valentine’s Day. What can I say? Maybe it’s the doo wop vocals. Maybe it’s the backing orchestra. […]

Leave a Reply

